2006 ICM Prizes

The 2006 Field Medalists have been announced:

Andrei Okounkov “for his contributions briding probability; representation theory and algebraic geometry.”

Grigori Perelman “for his contributions to geometry and his revolutionary insights into the analytical and geometric structure of the Ricci flow.”

Terence Tao “for his contributions to partial differential equations, combinatorics, harmonic analysis and additive number theory.”

Wendelin Werner “for his contributions to the development of stochastic Loewner evolution, the geometry of two-dimensional Brownian motion, and conformal field theory.”

The Nevanlinna Prize went to Jon Kleinberg, while the very first Gauss Prize was awarded to Kiyoshi Itō.

As was widely predicted, Perelman declined his prize, and did not attend the ICM.

6 thoughts on “2006 ICM Prizes

  1. Not quite as impressive a performance as last time, though. For a while, I thought Tao was going to be the only one just because that was the only prediction you made (at the time, it was widely claimed that Perelman wasn’t eligible).

Comments are closed.